Academic Board

The Academic Board is responsible for the academic quality of Singapore Media Academy.  It oversees all matters relating to admission, course content, criteria and quality of lecturers’ appointment and performance. The member will serve a term of two (2) years from the date of appointment.

Academic Board Members will meet at least twice a year for any of the duties as follows:

  1. Advise the types of courses to be offered
  2. Endorse new certificate programmes
  3. Develop and review policies and procedures on Private Education Institution (PEI) academic matters
  4. Facilitate the implementation and compliance with such policies and procedures
  5. Develop a set of standards to ensure the course review, including, but not limited to:
  • The content of the modules or subjects of each course
  • The duration of the course; and
  • The appropriate entry and graduation requirements
  • Approve each trainer to be deployed to teach any course/module/subject offered by SMA after determining the trainer possesses the minimum qualifications and experience

The Academic Board consists of the following members:

  • Dr Pari Sara Shirazi, Global Education Consultant and Writer
  • Mr Lim Chong Jin, Director, School of Design, Temasek Polytechnic
  • Ms Looi Mei Fong, Deputy Principal, Ngee Ann Polytechnic
  • Mr Tan Lai Whatt Sebastian, Group Managing Director, Photographer/Director, Shooting Gallery Asia
  • Mr Timothy Tan Choon Hwee, Head, Singapore Media Academy